Snowzilla in Philly

In case you haven’t been following the news recently, you might have missed that over the weekend the Mid-Atlantic got absolutely hammered by winter storm Jonas.  Since I’m somewhat crazy, I skipped town with my husband and our friends and headed to Pittsburgh for the weekend around 1 o’clock in the afternoon on Friday.  In all fairness, we had made the plans two months ago and didn’t really want to cancel them.  So we missed the majority of the storm.  But when we got back home, there was no shortage of snow waiting for us.

2016-01-24 17.07.55
My backyard on Sunday afternoon.
2016-01-24 17.01.42
A view of my street on Sunday evening.

The public schools have been closed for the past two days, but we have had classes all this week.  Below are the pictures I took while walking around campus on Monday.

2016-01-25 13.36.45
Locust Walk

2016-01-25 13.38.41

2016-01-25 13.39.26
Facing Van Pelt.

Although some snow had melted, there was still a lot left on campus.  With the temperatures supposed to be above freezing for the rest of the week, I’ve decided to break out my rain boots and wait for the inevitable flooding to begin.  Wish me luck with my trek to class!

 

Leave a Reply

