Year One is Done!

Holy cow, you guys.  Papers have been submitted, group projects have been presented, and I’ve gotten my grades for the spring.  My first year of grad school is officially done.  It sounds super, super cheesy, but I cannot believe how fast it went by.  There were definitely moments when it felt like it would never end, but I came out alive and ready to take on new challenges.

So what do I have in store for the summer?  Well, to begin with, I went to Kansas City last weekend for a wedding.  It was so much fun.  I had never been before, so it was nice to do some exploring.  I also got to see my aunt and uncle, as well as a ton of my friends from Chicago.  It was so great to be back in the Midwest, even if it was only for a few days.

2016-05-06 16.19.22
The view of Kansas City from our hotel room.

So what does the rest of the summer hold in store for me?  Quite a lot:

  • India: Well, to begin with, I’m getting ready to go to India in six days for another wedding.  My best friend of twenty-something years is getting married in Delhi and also holding a party in Hyderabad.  While I’m super excited, I’m a little afraid I might melt.  Keep your fingers crossed for me.
  •  Honduras: Before I started school at Penn, I worked as a Medical Missions Coordinator for a surgery center in Honduras.  I’m finally getting to go visit it this summer and help out with a brigade.  I’m so, so excited to do this!
  • Summer classes: I’m going to be taking a Summer II class in the TLL division at GSE.  We get one class that we can take outside the ELX division, and I decided that I wanted that to be Gender and Education – two things I am very passionate about.
  • Visiting home: My parents aren’t all that far away in Maryland, so I’m sure I’ll be popping in to say hello.
  • Having friends visit: We’re having friends from all over come to see us in Philly.  I’m pumped to get to show them around the city
  • Chicago: My summer will end by visiting the Windy City.  I love Chicago in the summer, so I’m pretty excited to go back and see friends.

Holy moly.  That’s a ton of stuff.  But I prefer being busy to just sitting around, so I’m sure it will be good.

Before I end this post, I wanted to let you all know two things:

  • I intend to keep this blog up and running!  I am going to write about my summer classes and what Philly is like during May – August, as well as my during my second and final year as a TESOL student at Penn.
  • I was accepted as a TESOL Peer Advisor for next year!  So maybe some of you readers will have me as an advisor.  Get excited – I have some awesome things planned.

As always, leave me comments!  I’m sure the closer you get to school starting, the more questions you’ll have.

Alright, I am now off to Spruce Street Harbor Park to meet a friend!  Enjoy your weekend you guys!

Leave a Reply

